Local History at the Bellmore Memorial Library
The town of Bellmore, which traces its beginnings back to 1643, was a farming and fishing town until fairly recently in its history. Known as both Little Neck and New Bridge, the town officially became Bellmore in 1900 when the post office was established. The busy Long Island Railroad station in the center of town made Bellmore a “commuter’s paradise” in the 1920s and the population began to grow significantly. In the midst of residential growth, however, there were still active farms as late as the 1960s. Bellmore is now a vibrant suburb; home to various schools, houses of worship, and civic organizations. It is the gateway to Long Island’s beautiful beaches, parks, and major roadways.
Organized in 1948 by civic-minded residents, the Bellmore Memorial Library started in one room of an old wooden schoolhouse with 150 volumes borrowed from the NY State Library and a handful of donated books. Over 65 years later, the Bellmore Memorial Library is a vibrant community center, serving the information, cultural, and recreational needs of more than 16,000 residents.
The Library is working hard to preserve, catalog and digitize hundreds of photographs, slides, maps, and other objects in its local history collection. Our ultimate goal is to provide the community access to these treasures via digital platforms as well as displays and presentations for the public.
Please contact Martha DiVittorio or Chryssa Golding at 516-785-2990 or email email@example.com for more information.
Please Note: An appointment is required to access the collection.